Sie sind vermutlich noch nicht im Forum angemeldet - Klicken Sie hier um sich kostenlos anzumelden Impressum 
Das deutsche / the international Kawasaki Estrella BJ250 Forum Kawasaki Estrella Forum www.bj250.de
Sie können sich hier anmelden
Dieses Thema hat 7 Antworten
und wurde 1.944 mal aufgerufen
 Estrella Maintenance & Technology
phil Offline

Neuling

24.10.2006 11:15
Spares around the world? Antworten

Hi
Perhaps I'm dreaming...I have some experience of long distance travel on motorbikes. London to Johanesburg,via the Sahara desert, in 1971 on a BMW R/65, and Dubai to UK via Iran, Turkey, Romania, Bulgaria, Hungary, Germany, and France two years ago on a BMW F650. So now for the big one, around the world..on my Kawasaki Estrella. She is strong, mechanically simple, and reliable. The only problem would be the need to stay mostly on tarmac (hard) roads, but I believe, serioulsy, it could be done. For me, the first part of the journey would be from Dubai, through Oman, to Aden in Yemen. Then a boat to Djibouti in Ethopia, then to Kenya, Tanzania, Malawi, Mozambique and South Africa....

The bike now has done 27,000kms, and it will be about 12,000 kms to South Africa. I will do a major service before I leave, but will travel light and the only spares I plan to take is a plug, oil filter (x3)clutch cable. Any advice on other spares to take? Do any of you have any high mileage Estrellas with a record of any parts you needed to replace.

Regards

Philip

Dirk the duck Offline

Doppelsternchen

24.10.2006 17:27
#2 RE: Spares around the world? Antworten
I'd change the cam chain BEFORE you start the trip. Make sure that you get the tires, especially the rear tire somewhere. It is a size you might get not anywhere.

Cadfael Offline

ADMIN

24.10.2006 19:37
#3 RE: Spares around the world? Antworten

Hi Phil,

great that you managed to enrol.
But much greater what you plan to do!

The only thing as a technical fool is to watch if all screws are fixed.